An easy way of publishing your relevant EU press releases.

Euronews and EBS congratulate the European Leadership Awards 2018 winners


24 May 2018




The winners of the first European Leadership Awards, organised by Euronews and the European Business Summit (EBS), have just been revealed during the award ceremony, which took place tonight in Brussels. 



Brussels - 23 May 2018 
Euronews and EBS, in partnership with Les Echos, congratulate the first winners of the European Leadership Awards, as well as the nominees, all talented Europeans who, through their innovations, their commitments or their skills, enrich and deeply transform our society.
After a public vote in March that nominated the three nominees of each category, the eight-member jury, all renowned in their line of business, revealed the winners tonight at the opening dinner of the European Business Summit at the Egmont Palace in Brussels.
Hosted by Euronews' economics and business journalist Maithreyi Seetharaman, the ceremony was broadcast live in 10 languages across the channel's entire TV network and its digital platforms.

In Memoriam, special Prize: Daphne Caruana Galizia


Antonio Tajani, European Parliament's President, has given the In Memoriam special prize to Daphne Caruana Galizia's sons, Andrew and Matthew Caruana Galizia.

Antonio Tajani said: "Daphne Caruana Galizia died in pursuit of the truth. We still await justice to be made with killers and masterminds. Proud to present European Leadership Award in her memory."


In memory of the Maltese journalist murdered in her country on 16 October 2017 and in recognition of her investigative work, the Euronews and EBS teams presented a special prize to the family of Daphne Caruana Galizia.




European Leader of the Year Prize chosen by the public: Emmanuel Macron
Michael Peters, CEO of Euronews and President of Africanews, awarded the European Leader of the Year Prize to the French President, Emmanuel Macron, represented by the Ambassador Philippe Léglise-Costa, permanent Representative of France to the European Union.





European Entrepreneur of the Year Prize: Boyan Slat
Beate Degen, Advisory partner at Ernst & Young, awarded the European Entrepreneur of the Year Price to the young Dutch visionary Boyan Slat. At only 23 years of age, he is the founder of Ocean Cleanup, which aims to clean up the oceans of their plastic waste.



European CEO of the Year Prize: Edyta Kocyk 

Markus Beyrer, Director General of BusinessEurope, awarded Edyta Kocyk the European CEO of the Year Prize. With her dynamic and forward-looking company SiDLY that she founded in 2014, Kocyk developed health telematics, especially with the telemedicine bracelet.



European Innovator of the Year Prize: Krisztián Imre
K. Ananth Krishnan, Chief Technology Officer at Tata Consultancy Services, announced the European Innovator of the Year: the Hungarian innovator Krisztián Imre for his invention and development of the EVA (Extended Visual Assistant) voice control glasses that significantly improve the daily lives of the visually impaired.
European Personality of the Year Prize: Florin Badita
Arno Behrens, Associate Senior Research Fellow at the Centre for European Policy Studies (CEPS), has given the European Personality of the Year's Prize to Florin Badita, founder of Coruptia Ucide (Corruption Kills). This award recognises his fight for the decriminalisation of corruption cases in Romania.


For further information, please contact: 

Lydie Bonvallet
Tel: +33 (0)4 28 67 05 35


Agnieszka Widlaszewska
Tel: +32 2 645 3 488