An easy way of publishing your relevant EU press releases.

ETUC open letter to EU Heads of States and Governments


07 Jul 2015


Global Europe
Public Affairs
Med & South
  • EU Heads of States and Governments,
  • Jean-Claude Juncker, President of the European Commission,
  • Martin Schulz, President of the European Parliament,
  • Donald Tusk, President of the European Council,
  • Xavier Bettel, President of the Council of the European Union,
  • Mario Draghi, President of the European Central Bank,
  • Jeroen Dijsselbloem, President of the Eurogroup,
  • Christine Lagarde, Director-General of the International Monetary Fund.
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
The events unfolding in Greece are of historic significance. Solutions must be found to keep Greece in the Eurozone and in the European Union. This requires political
leadership, not a technocratic approach.
Greek people have voted against austerity, unemployment, and poverty that made Greek debt unsustainable. They have not voted against the EU or against the Euro.
We consider that this referendum is a clear signal that policies imposed during the last five years are socially unbearable and an economic failure. People must not be penalised for the way they voted.
EU leaders have now an unavoidable responsibility to find a sensible compromise. The solution should not be technical or left to the ECB, it must be political.
We are convinced that EU leaders should think hard and long before pushing Greece out of the Eurozone. Now is the moment to show what a European Union means.
We are calling on you to resume negotiations in good faith with the aim of rapidly reaching a socially fair and economically sustainable agreement with the Greek
Yours sincerely,
Bernadette Ségol                                   Ignacio Fernandez Toxo                                 Frances O'Grady                                       
ETUC General Secretary                       ETUC President                                              TUC General Secretary
Reiner Hoffmann                                   Yannis Panagopoulos                                     Rudy De Leeuw
DGB President                                        GSEE President                                               FGTB President 
Marie-Hélène Ska                                 Susanna Camusso                                           Catelene Passchier
CSC General Secretary                       CGIL General Secretary                                    FNV Vice-President
Candido Mendez                                  Erich Foglar                                                     Josef Středula
UGT-E General Secretary                   ÖGB President                                                 CMKOS President
Laurent Berger                                     Dimitar Manolov                                              Bente Sorgenfrey
CFDT General Secretary                      PODKREPA President                                       FTF President
Eduardo Chagas                                   Oliver Röthig                                                  France Sponem Perez
ETF General Secretary                         Uni-Europa Regional Secretary                    ETUC Women’s
                                                                                                                            Committee President
Roger Mercatoris
Eurocop Vice-President


Eurochambres AISBL
Policy Internship Position
International Federation for Spina Bifida and Hydrocephalus
Program Manager
International Center for Future Generations vzw
Biotechnology Policy Officer
Global Renewables Alliance
Senior Consultant
European Environmental Bureau
(Senior) Policy Officer for Agriculture
International Planned Parenthood Federation (IPPF) European Network
Events and Administration Intern
Communications intern