An easy way of publishing your relevant EU press releases.

Janusz Lacny re-elected IRU President


04 Nov 2011



The IRU General Assembly today re-elected Mr. Janusz Lacny IRU President, for the term 2012-2013.

Geneva – Janusz Lacny has been re-elected President of the International Road Transport Union (IRU) by the IRU General Assembly for a new term of office 2012-2013. 

“I am truly delighted and deeply honoured that my peers unanimously decided to extend my mandate as IRU President especially now that new regions of the world are scrambling as never before to benefit from the IRU’s more than 60 years of experience and unique know how… New and reinforced partnerships in Africa, in the Americas, in the Middle East and the Far East, all point to the IRU’s remit becoming truly global as it can offer effective and tangible economic remedies to all these regions,” Janusz Lacny stated.

Mr Lacny enjoys a distinguished career in road transport, which started in 1991 when he became an international haulier, establishing his own transport company “JMJ-TRANS”, which he extended to include forwarding activities. 

A Professor with a Ph.D. Degree in telecommunications and computer communication systems, he created in 2004 the Department of Logistics and Transport of the University of Economy in Bydgoszcz, Poland. 

Mr Lacny has been a member of the Association of International Road Hauliers (ZMPD) in Poland since 1995, and was elected President in 1999 and became Secretary General in 2006 and then Vice President 2008. In 2000 he became the Chairman of the Advisory Committee to the Minister of Transport and then the Minister of Infrastructure in Poland. Since 2001 he has also published more than 20 scientific papers on road transport. 

Also, the IRU Passenger Transport Council elected a new President, Yves Mannaerts, Director of the Belgian Federation of Bus and Coach Operators (FBAA). 

The new leadership of the IRU, with effect 1 January 2012, will be: 

Presidential Executive


Janusz LACNY, ZMPD Vice President & CEO of JMJ-TRANS, Poland

Vice Presidents 

Pere PADROSA, ASTIC President & CEO of Padrosa Transports, Spain 

Yves MANNAERTS, FBAA Director, Belgium


Radu DINESCU, UNTRR Secretary General, Romania

Vladimir FLOREA, AITA President, Moldova

Leonid KOSTYUNCHENKO, ASMAP UA President, Ukraine

Toivo KULDKEPP, ERAA Secretary General, Estonia

Christian LABROT, BWVL Secretary General, Germany

Antonio MOUSINHO, ANTRAM Vice-President, Portugal

Georgi PETROV, AEBTRI President, Bulgaria

Izzet SALAH, UND Deputy President, Turkey

Yurii SUKHIN, ASMAP President, Russian federation

* * *  

Download high resolution pictures of IRU’s new leadership here.

Press contact: Juliette Ebélé, +41 22 918 27 07,