An easy way of publishing your relevant EU press releases.

Financial Transaction Tax: EPP Group welcomes Council's green light. Jean-Paul Gauzès MEP


23 Jan 2013


EU Priorities 2020
Euro & Finance

"This is a crucial year for Europe's stability and growth. The EPP Group welcomes the Council's green light for implementing the enhanced cooperation in the Financial Transaction Tax (FTT). For us it is of major importance that the financial sector contributes, as any other economic sector, to the collective effort   to grow out of the crisis.  This is the next step out of the crisis. For now 11 Member States are willing to participate, for the rest the doors are open and they can join at any moment" said Jean-Paul Gauzès MEP, EPP Group Spokesman in the Economy Affairs Committee of the European Parliament.


"The European Parliament has been supporting the creation of the FTT for a long time. We call on the European Commission to swiftly put forward the new Directive proposal. I hope that the initiated enhanced cooperation agreed on by 11 Member States will pave the way for a European and then global agreement on Financial Transaction Tax. The added value is indisputable - the FTT will fight against speculation, will introduce more justice into the fiscal system  and should, in the long run, enable the strengthening of EU own resources" he said.


Member States participating in the enhanced cooperation on FTT are: Belgium, Germany, Estonia, Greece, Spain, France, Italy, Austria, Portugal, Slovenia and Slovakia.



12 December 2012 - EP adopted by a large majority its report on the FTT.



The Parliament will be involved on the basis of the consultation procedure. The vote will most likely take place during the May or June plenary session in Strasbourg.

Jean-Paul GAUZÈS MEP, Tel: +32-228-45700

Marion Jeanne, EPP Group Press and Communications Service,  Tel: +32-479840293

Katarzyna Klaus, EPP Group Press and Communications Service,  Tel: +32-484138359

Note to Editors

The EPP Group is by far the largest political group in the European Parliament with 270 Members and 3 Croatian Observer Members.



SAFE - Safe Food Advocacy Europe
EU Project Manager
NATO Parliamentary Assembly
NATO PA Researchers
European Union Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators
Policy Officer – Market Conduct (AD5)
Authority for European Political Parties and European Political Foundations
Compliance controls assistant
International Dairy Federation
Communications Officer
United Nations Regional Information Centre (UNRIC)
Intern (Public Information)