An easy way of publishing your relevant EU press releases.


24 May 2019


The European Federation of National Associations of Water Services elects a new president, committee chairs and Executive Board, to oversee the continued protection of Europe’s water consumers and the environment
Bonn, 24 May 2019: Europe’s water services today elected Dr Claudia Castell-Exner as EurEau President for the next two years.
Claudia comes from the German association DVGW, where she leads the water management, quality and usage team. She is also the Director of European Water Policy.
“Water is valuable – and essential – for our society. Our sector is experienced in providing fundamental services but we face challenges we must address if we are to keep bringing efficient, sustainable and affordable water services to our customers,” said Claudia.
“I want to highlight the vital role that water plays in our society. EU policy makers must do more to protect our water resources and promote water services. Water needs to be prioritised on the political agenda, as it is all too often sidelined, especially regarding economic interests from industry and agriculture. I am determined to expand EurEau’s status as a political heavyweight as we tackle global issues such as climate change by encouraging investment and innovation in the sector” she continued.
Claudia has over 25 years’ experience of working in the water sector at both the national and the European levels. Amongst her priorities for the next years are ensuring that consumers and the environment are protected amid the EU’s revision of our essential water legislation, ranging from the Drinking Water Directive to the Urban Waste Water Treatment Directive, while maintaining service affordability.
The full result of the EurEau elections, as voted by their peers are:
~ Claudia Castell-Exner - Germany (BDEW and DVGW) – EurEau President
~ Tom Leahy – Ireland (CCMA) – Chair of the EurEau Committee on Drinking Water
~ Michaël Bentvelsen – The Netherlands (Unie van Waterschappen and Vewin) – co-Chair of the EurEau Committee on Waste Water
~ Sarah Gillman – United Kingdom (Water UK) – co-Chair of the EurEau Committee on Waste Water
~ Bruno Tisserand – France (FP2E) – Chair of the EurEau Committee on Economics and Legal Affairs.
The full Executive Committee will be composed of Alain Gillis (Belgaqua, Belgium), Osmo Seppälä (FIWA, Finland), Neil Kerr (WSA, Malta), Mircea Macri (ARA, Romania), Iztok Rozman (CCIS-CPU, Slovenia), Mariano Blanco Orozco (AEAS, Spain) and Stuart Colville (Water UK, United Kingdom).
All parties take up their new positions from 01 July 2019.
About EurEau
EurEau is the voice of Europe’s water sector. We represent public and private drinking and waste water service providers. Our members are the national water service associations from 29 European countries. We bring sector professionals together to discuss quality, resource efficiency and access to water for Europe’s citizens and businesses.
Employing around 470,000 people, the sector makes a significant contribution to the European economy.