An easy way of publishing your relevant EU press releases.

Cuban dissident Oswaldo Payá, Sakharov Prize winner - Tribute Conference 10 September 2013


05 Sep 2013


Public Affairs
On 10 September 2013, the EPP Group is organising a tribute conference in the memory of the Cuban political dissident Oswaldo Payá.

The conference will be opened by the Chairman of the EPP Group, Joseph Daul. Among the participants are Ofelia Acevedo, Oswaldo Payá’s widow, José María Aznar, Former Prime Minister of Spain, Hans-Gert Poettering MEP, former President of the European Parliament, Jaime Mayor Oreja MEP, Vice-Chairman of the EPP Group, Edward McMillan-Scott MEP (ALDE Group), Vice-President of the European Parliament responsible for Democracy & Human Rights and the Sakharov Prize network, José Ignacio Salafranca MEP, EPP Group Coordinator in the EP’s Foreign Affairs Committee, Chairman of the EuroLat Assembly, Henrik Ehrenberg, President of the Swedish Christian Democratic International Centre, and Jarosław Wałęsa MEP, Chairman of the Friends of Free Cuba Group.

Commenting on the event, Joseph Daul said: “We dedicate this tribute conference to Oswaldo Payá, a tireless crusader for democracy in Cuba who was always committed to a non-violent struggle for freedom. We have the duty to continue his fight, a task that this Parliament honoured a decade ago. No real progress has been made as regards the respect of human rights by the Cuban authorities. The Cuban government must respect fundamental freedoms, especially the freedom of expression and political association. Our tribute to Oswaldo Payá is our profound solidarity with all Cuban people and our support in their progress towards democracy and respect and the promotion of fundamental freedoms. We will not stop calling for justice and democracy in Cuba.”


Conference Programme

Contact information:

Joseph DAUL MEP, Chairman of the EPP Group, tel: +32 (0)2 2845525

Delia Vlase, Chairman's spokeswoman, tel: +32-476-331038


Note to Editors

The EPP Group is by far the largest political group in the European Parliament with 275 Members from 27 Member States.

Homenaje al disidente cubano Oswaldo Payá. Joseph Daul, Presidente del Grupo Popular Europeo.




IHI - Innovative Health Initiative
Scientific Project Officer
Project Manager
EUI - European University Institute
Director of the Communications Service
LP Brussels
Association Manager
VDMA European Office
Regulatory Manager (m/w/d)
Alber & Geiger
The Global Partnership for the Prevention of Armed Conflict (GPPAC)
Final External Evaluation Consultant