An easy way of publishing your relevant EU press releases.

Cooperation between standards organisations of Europe and CIS


29 May 2012


Innovation & Enterprise

25 May 2012 - The European Committee for Standardization (CEN), the European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardization (CENELEC) and the European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI) have signed a Memorandum of Understanding with the Euro-Asian Council for Standardization, Metrology and Certification (EASC).  This agreement provides a basis for closer collaboration on various aspects of standardization, which will facilitate trade in goods and services between Europe and the countries of the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS).

The CEN-CENELEC-ETSI-EASC Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) has been signed by the Presidents of the four organisations and was formally concluded at a ceremony in Almaty, Kazakhstan yesterday (24 May) during the 41st EASC jubilee meeting, in the presence of Mr. Ryskeldy А. Satbaev, President of EASC and Mr. Francisco Verdera Marí, External Relations Officer representing the European Standards Organisations. 

Under the agreement, CEN, CENELEC, ETSI and EASC commit themselves to working together through targeted dialogues on issues of joint interest, and facilitating the mutual acceptance, compatibility and recognition of standards. By promoting the harmonization of standards at international level, they also seek to facilitate trade between the European Union and the CIS countries, thereby contributing to sustainable growth.

EASC will cooperate with CEN, CENELEC and ETSI on standardization activities in relation to a wide range of sectors including: accessibility, construction, foodstuffs, electrical installations, energy efficiency, machinery, medical engineering, networked technologies (smart grids, smart meters, etc.), petroleum products, railways, services and telecommunication equipment.

Euro-Asian Council for Standardization, Metrology and Certification (EASC) is the internationally recognised name for the Interstate Council for Standardization, Metrology and Certification of the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS). The Council was created in 1992 as an intergovernmental body with responsibility for the formulation and carrying out of coordinated policy in the field of standardization, metrology and certification.

EASC is recognized by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC). Its members are the National Standards Bodies of the following countries: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Ukraine.

Read the full press release (pdf version)

Media contact

Ben Carlin

Communication Unit

CEN-CENELEC Management Centre

T: +32 2 550 08 32