An easy way of publishing your relevant EU press releases.

Highlights of the European Public Sector Award 2009


28 Oct 2009


EU Priorities 2020

On 4-6 November 2009, the European Institute of Public Administration (EIPA) will be proud to honour the most innovative performers in European public administration with the prestigious European Public Sector Award 2009. This is an award for the best and most innovative public sector performers in the fields of: Performance Improvement in Public Service Delivery; Citizen Involvement; New Forms of Partnership Working; and Leadership & Management for Change. The highlights of this international event will take place at three well-known locations in Maastricht: the Town Hall of Maastricht, the Provincial Government House and the Crowne Plaza Hotel.

On Wednesday 4 November the event will be opened at the town hall of Maastricht by Mayor Gerd Leers, who will hand out the EPSA Best Practice Certificates, together with the Director-General of the Maastricht based European Institute of Public Administration, Prof. Dr Marga Pröhl, as well as the EPSA Project Leader, Mr Alexander Heichlinger.

The international symposium, bringing together a range of experts, politicians and European Commission representatives, takes place on Thursday 5 November at the Provincial Government House, where the prominent Treaty of Maastricht was signed. On behalf of the Province of Limburg, Mr Jos Hessels, Vice-Governor for Economic Affairs, will welcome the 250 participants. International speakers during the plenary sessions include Mr Mats Odell, Swedish Minister for Local Government & Financial Markets, Mr Vladimir Spidla, European Commissioner for Employment, Social Affairs and Equal Opportunities, and Mr Henning Christophersen, Chairman of EIPA’s Board of Governors and former Vice-President of the European Commission.

On the evening of 5 November during the festive award ceremony in the Crowne Plaza Hotel and in the presence of the Vice-President of the European Commission, Mr Siim Kallas, the winners of each category will be announced and the EPSA 2009 trophy, created by a local artist, will be awarded.

On Friday, 6 November 2009, the symposium will conclude with the four parallel thematic workshops, during which the award nominees and EPSA 2009 winners will present and discuss their projects in detail.

EIPA – with its headquarters located at the Onze Lieve Vrouweplein in Maastricht, and with Centres in Luxembourg, Barcelona, Warsaw and Brussels – is pleased to be able to bring together the best performers in European public administration and hand over the prestigious EPSA 2009 Award in Maastricht.

Maastricht (NL), 28 October 2009

More information: Ms Joyce Groneschild, Marketing & Information Coordinator
European Institute of Public Administration
Tel: +31 (0) 43 3296357; email:

Contact address
EPSA team: Helpdesk at the European Institute of Public Administration
Tel: +31 (0) 43 3296 341; email:

Note for the editors & INVITATION TO PRESS:

Accredited press is invited to attend the main parts of this programme and the press conference (English spoken) on Thursday 5 November at 10.00 hrs in the Provincial Government House. In the complete programme which is herewith attached you will see which parts are open to press. Please register your participation at the latest on 2 November with Ms Joyce Groneschild. Registration is necessary in order to gain access to the buildings!

Orginal document attached with included programme and speakers.