An easy way of publishing your relevant EU press releases.

The Regional Innovation Award 2011: Be the next winners!


23 Feb 2011


Innovation & Enterprise
Regional Policy

The application forms for the 2011 edition of the Regional Innovation Award has just opened, hereby marking the launch of a 6th year of interregional competition for innovation.

Contribute to a better visibility of regional innovation initiatives

Besides the fact that the AER award offers the possibility to obtain investment opportunities, it also allows the regions to promote their territory on the European scene.

 “Winning the AER Regional Innovation Award did not only increase our visibility amongst other European regions but contributed to ongoing support for the prized project in the region” says Eugeniusz Romański of the Silesian Centre for Information, Slaskie (PL), one of the 2009 winner. ”We are now sharing the benefits of the project with our colleagues from other departments and regions to promote it on regional and even national level” he added.

As for the 2010 edition, the results obtained are more than encouraging: the region of Tampere (FIN), which was one of the three winners along with the regions of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern (D) and Uppsala (S), largely go prove this. Its project « Demola », launched in 2008, aims to provide students with the possibility to develop prototypes of products and services based on concepts designed by companies. A gamble that paid off, as it created 25 new jobs, promoted the establishment of 3 companies and allowed 95% of the final projects to obtain a licence.

A 2011 edition with some novelties

Delivered each year on the occasion of the General Assembly of the AER, this year’s edition of the Regional Innovation Award distinguishes itself from those previous ones in that only the AER’s members are allowed to compete. And, as innovation is not only a question of Research and Development but concerns all fields in which the different committees of the AER are working, applications from the members of the “Social Policy and Public Health” Committee (2) and of the “Culture, Education, Youth and International Cooperation” Committee (3) are strongly encouraged, alongside those of the “Economy and Regional Development” Committee (1).

The deadline for submitting your application is 1 June 2011.

All information available on:

The Assembly of European Regions (AER – is the largest independent network of regions in wider Europe. Bringing together 270 regions from 34 countries and 16 interregional organisations, AER is the political voice of its members and a forum for interregional co-operation.

AER Contacts
Francine Huhardeaux
Head of Press & Communications
+33 3 88 22 74 49

Antonio Buscardini
Press & Communication Assistant
+33 3 88 22 74 44

Céline Dawans
Committee “Economy and Regional Development” (1)
+32 2 880 95 64