An easy way of publishing your relevant EU press releases.

Janusz Lacny re-elected IRU President


06 Nov 2009



The IRU General Assembly today re-elected Mr. Janusz Lacny IRU President, for the term 2010-2011.

6 November 2009

Geneva – Janusz Lacny, currently IRU President, and Vice President of the IRU’s Polish Member Association ZMPD (Association of International Road Transport Operators in Poland) has been re-elected President of the International Road Transport Union (IRU) by the IRU General Assembly today. Janusz Lacny will assume this new term of office 2010-2011 as of 1 January 2010.
Mr Lacny enjoys a distinguished career in road transport, which started in 1991 when he became an international haulier, establishing his own transport company “JMJ-TRANS”, which he extended to include forwarding activities.
A Professor with a Ph.D. Degree in telecommunications and computer communication systems, he created in 2004 the Department of Logistics and Transport of the University of Economy in Bydgoszcz, Poland.
Mr Lacny has been a member of the Association of International Road Hauliers (ZMPD) in Poland since 1995, and was elected President in 1999 and became Secretary General in 2006 and then Vice President 2008. In 2000 he became the Chairman of the Advisory Committee to the Minister of Transport and then the Minister of Infrastructure in Poland. Since 2001 he has also published more than 20 scientific papers on road transport and submitted them at International Conferences on Transport and Logistics.
“2009 has been one of many challenges for the road transport industry mainly due to the economic crisis. We have weathered the storm. However, the storm is not over. We need, more than ever, to be ready for faster changes and to effectively tackle, head on, the many more challenges which must be addressed as the world economy reshapes itself. I am proud to be re-elected to keep leading the IRU and its Members to take on this challenge”, Janusz Lacny stated.

The new leadership of the IRU, with effect 1 January 2010, will be:
Presidential Executive
Janusz LACNY, ZMPD Vice President & CEO of JMJ-TRANS, Poland
Vice Presidents
Pere PADROSA, ASTIC President & CEO of Padrosa Transports, Spain
Graham SMITH, CPT & CEO of Heyfordian Travel, Great Britain
Dick van den BROEK HUMPHREIJ, EVO General Managing Director, The Netherlands
Vladimir FLOREA, AITA President, Moldova
Jaroslav HANAK, CESMAD Bohemia Vice-President, Czech Republic
Leonid KOSTYUNCHENKO, ASMAP UA President, Ukraine
Toivo KULDKEPP, ERAA Secretary General, Estonia
Antonio MOUSINHO, ANTRAM Vice-President, Portugal
Georgi PETROV, AEBTRI President, Bulgaria
Izzet SALAH, UND Deputy President, Turkey
Yurii SUKHIN, ASMAP President, Russian federation
Goods Transport Council
Pere PADROSA, ASTIC President & CEO of Padrosa Transports, Spain
Vice Presidents
K.M. SYDIKNAZAROV, AIRCUZ President, Uzbekistan
Peter CULLUM, FTA Head of International Affairs, UK

Passenger Transport Council
Graham Smith, CPT & CEO of Heyfordian Travel, Great Britain
Vice Presidents
Yves MANNAERTS, FBAA Director, Belgium
Hubert ANDELA, KNV Taxi Secretary General & President of the IRU Taxi Group
* * *
Press contact: Juliette Ebélé, +41 22 918 27 07,


Churches´Commission for Migrants in Europe (CCME)
Executive Secretary (half time)
SAFE - Safe Food Advocacy Europe
EU Project Manager
NATO Parliamentary Assembly
NATO PA Researchers
European Union Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators
Policy Officer – Market Conduct (AD5)
Authority for European Political Parties and European Political Foundations
Compliance controls assistant
International Dairy Federation
Communications Officer
United Nations Regional Information Centre (UNRIC)
Intern (Public Information)