An easy way of publishing your relevant EU press releases.

European Members of Parliaments adopt the Declaration of Brussels 2009


23 Nov 2009


Sustainable Dev.

Key requests for:

- Ambitious and timely National Renewable Energy Action Plans by 30 June 2010

- Binding 20% efficiency target for 2020 in a new European Energy Efficiency Action Plan

- Key role of Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency in the climate negotiations in Copenhagen December 2009

On 18th November 2009 the 9th Inter-Parliamentary Meeting (IPM9) organised by EUFORES brought together European and national Parliamentarians from 17 EU Member States. The Parliamentarians discussed the implementation of the new Directive for Renewable Energy as well as the status of the European energy efficiency policies.

The high level meeting in the Parliament of Belgium led to the adoption of the Declaration of Brussels 2009 on future EU policies in the field of renewable energy and energy

The Parliamentarians call for a consistent implementation of the Directive on Renewable Energy and urged the EU Member States to develop ambitious, effective and
timely National Renewable Energy Action Plans, which are expected by 30 June 2010.

They also ask for a new and ambitious European Energy Efficiency Action Plan with a 20% binding target on energy efficiency for 2020.

The Parliamentarians stress the key role of renewable energy sources and energy efficiency to tackle the issues of energy poverty, reduce the dependency on energy imports,
enforce competitiveness and limit the effects of climate change. Both are key solutions, which should be supported by the international climate negotiations in Copenhagen
in December 2009.


EUFORES - the European Forum for Renewable Energy Sources - is a European parliamentary network and an independent Non-Profit Organization aimed at promoting renewable
energy in Europe.

Dr. Jan Geiss

EUFORES - European Forum for Renewable Energy Sources
Renewable Energy House, Rue d’Arlon 63-65, B-1040 Brussels, Belgium

Tel.: +32(2)5461948, Fax: +32(2)5461934;


Accountancy Europe
Event coordinator
EFA - European Free Alliance
Administration & Accounting Officer
Communications Manager
ESMA - European Securities and Markets Authority
Head of Department (Investor Protection and Sustainable Finance)
International Emissions Trading Association (IETA)
European Policy (Senior) Manager
European Parliament
Internship with MEP Pascal Canfin
GIZ GmbH (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit)
Junior Advisor (m/f/d) for C4N-NIPN