An easy way of publishing your relevant EU press releases.

A delegation of the Assembly of European Regions travels to Tunisia


06 May 2011


Social Europe & Jobs
Regional Policy

Led by Mrs Michèle SABBAN, President of the Assembly of European Regions (AER), a delegation* of European regional politicians will travel to Tunisia from 11th to 13th of May 2011.
This visit has a dual purpose:

To assist young Tunisian graduates in a tangible manner, helping them have access to training and integrate into the labour market, by setting up welcoming programmes in voluntary European regions. AER possesses a unique savoir-faire in this domain, as it has been implementing its “Eurodyssey” programme for more than 25 years, which allows about 600 young Europeans per year to acquire a first professional experience abroad.
The question of unemployment among young graduates is highly relevant for the future of Tunisia, where unemployment affects roughly 20% of the population. Mobility and professional insertion will therefore be key elements in the country’s development.

Support the decentralization process in Tunisia: AER wishes to implement a program of cooperation with Tunisian governorates.
The delegation will meet with key Tunisian politicians involved in issues of training and professional integration of young people, as well as in the field of territorial development, among which: M. Said AYDI, Minister of Employment and Vocational training, M. Abderrezek ZOUARI, Minister of Regional Development, M. Néjib KARAFI, Secretary of State for Regional Development, the General Director for Regional Development, the Governor of a governorate, the Secretary of State and the General Director Europe of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, as well as the President of the Tunisian Agency of Vocational training, representatives of NGOs, of chambers of commerce. They will also visit some universities.
*Members of the delegation: Michèle SABBAN, AER President and Vice-President of Ile-de-France (F), Hande ÖZSAN BOZATLI, Vice-President of Istanbul (TR) and President of the AER Committee ‘Culture, Education, Youth and International cooperation’, Jean-Claude GAYSSOT, Vice-President of Languedoc-Roussillon (F), Armelle MARTIN, Vice-President of Limousin (F), Pascal MANGIN, Regional councillor of Alsace (F), Antonio SORGI, General Director of the region of Abruzzo (I), André CRAVEIRO (Açores-P).


Seascape Belgium
Senior Communication Officer
European Aluminium
Trade Policy Assistant
EU Representation Wirtschaftskammer Österreich
Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung European Union
Student Assistant